Taking a step back, or maybe forward

Standard

So, just when I think I’m moving in the right direction with my writing, it all goes haywire.  In my last post, I mentioned how I had ideas galore now that I expanded the story from short to novel status.  Then, just after I said that and started getting back to work writing, each one of those ideas kept trying to jump over each other, leapfrogging and fighting for the next spot in my story.

I couldn’t tell if I was trying to write the same portion of the story in two different settings, or if I had legitimate ideas that both needed to be included, but no idea in what order they should flow.  I’m partially owing it to a lack of sleep.   I have been staying up a bit later than usual, trying to crank this bad boy out.

Regardless, of the reason and the correct answer, I have decided to put this story back on the shelf and pulled out my original novel that I was working on.  Don’t worry, the two are related as, the short story originally started as a possible prelude to the trilogy I am now moving back into.  Therefore, as the title implies, it feels like I’m stepping back, but maybe that is what I need to do, in order to take a few more forward.  I’ll let you know how it goes.

One thought on “Taking a step back, or maybe forward

  1. Hey man, Kirkus here from Twitter. I had the exact same problem about a month ago with my first novel. Wanted to tell you how I fixed it.

    First of all, I was a pantzer, everything by the seat of my pants. One day I had an idea and it worked out well. Each idea or plot twist that I wanted to have in my story, I wrote the basic idea on a note card. When I was done, I spread them all in front of me. I grabbed a pin board (I think that is what it is called) and started organizing them in the way I thought would fit best.

    When I was done, I had a messy outline. I would start with the top left card, my writing working toward that idea. When I reached that point, I would look the rest over again to see if it still made sense. If I had new ideas I would just tack it up there somewhere.

    My production literally doubled. I was concentrating on the part of the story I was working on rather than how I was going to pull everything together.

    Not sure if it would work for you, but might be worth looking at.

    Sorry bout the long comment, I’ll see you on Twitter!

Leave a Reply

