Time

Standard

I feel that time should be redefined as a natural resource, or maybe considered as a monetary item.  I always find myself in need of more.  That being considered, perhaps it would be far less darker to consider it a useless item similar to money, as opposed to comparing it to oil or coal which the world needs to stay afloat.  That way, at least, when everybody runs out of time, it won’t feel as much like we wasted something with true value.

On the other hand, if we consider it a resource, there is at least the hope that something would renew the resource to a bountiful amount over time, which I might add, can never be said about money.  I see no person or thing attempting to make enough money for all of the people of our world.

Either way, I digress.  This is not about the value of one thing compared to another.  It is, however, about the relative importance of time, and how desperately I wish I had more.  Considering how many things in life require increasing amounts of time, such as writing a short story, a novel or even this blog, you would think that somehow over time, with all of the amazing advancements in technology and life we have made, we would have somehow found a way to give people more time for things that arise in their day-to-day lives.  Am I asking for a DeLorean?  Am I asking for a time-turner?  Am I asking for Rufus to send me a phone booth that would allow me to finish my projects?  No, the answer is much simpler than that.

You would just think that, with our boundless intelligence and adaptability, we, the human race, would have found it within ourselves to grant each other the necessary amount of something as insubstantial as time.  Is it going to kill one person to grant another person a little extra time to settle a debt or finish a project.  Not likely, yet it seems that time has become even more valuable than any other thing in this world.  Or maybe it has always been that way, and I am just now realizing it.  Seeing as how the clock continues to read later and later, and the Sandman refuses to lend me a few more minutes, much less a few more hours to get some work done, I figure it is not something I will be able to ponder any longer this evening.

That being said, I leave with this final request:  “STOP BEING SUCH A GREEDY BASTARD, FATHER TIME!!!”

One thought on “Time

  1. Loved this post Justin. Time indeed is valuable yet we all fritter it away daily. Your words made me rethink a few things about my own lifestyle. Wouldn’t it be great if someone could invent extra time or a rewind button, now that would be truly amazing 😉

Leave a Reply

