One week after NaNoWriMo and other tales

Standard

And here we are.  I promised this post would arrive on the first of the month, and I failed.  Work has sucked every drop of energy out of me, as of late.    Either way, here we are now, and I’ve got some stuff to say! Yay!

So first off:  NaNoWriMo and What It Meant to Me.  It was one hell of an experience. I am now left feeling an overwhelming amount of emotions.  But specifically, I find myself sadly happy.  It was amazing to watch as the words just flowed out of me, though they lacked the speed that I needed to complete in time. I also found myself incredibly happy for every individual that completed their word counts, but the same instances lend me my own amount of sadness, on account of not being able to join them in their congratulation parties.  However, I do find myself able to celebrate the wonder of writing that took place during the month of November.  I am also incredibly happy with the new friends I made during the month!  It was amazing to share the experience with each and every one of you!

Now I direct your attention to the fact that I did No Shave November and promised to put up a picture after I shaved on the first.  Another thing that is overdue and so without further due I give you:  My Dashing Good Looks!

Observe the bags under my eyes… That’s the exhaustion. 😉

The final thing I want to talk about this week is the news stories about this Tennessee fire prevention fee.  If you guys haven’t heard about it, the story goes as such.  Obion County in Tennessee offer fire prevention along with a fee. Basically, if you live outside of city limits and you don’t pay the annual $75 fee firefighters will not put out a fire unless it threatens your life.  The reason I bring this up is because my wife told me how the firefighters in South Fulton had watched as someone’s home burnt to the ground for the SECOND TIME!  First, let me just say that I get it.  The people don’t have to pay a city tax, so I understand the need for the fee.  But the firefighters are still bound to respond to the call and go to the home, but they are not allowed to put out the fire.

I understand that they are doing their job, and that they have to follow orders, however, the vast majority of our country have come to view firefighters, EMTs, police officers, etc. as heroes.  That being the case, how can these men and women arrive to a fire emergency, and not be compelled to put it out?  I’m not blaming them, but I strongly feel that it takes a complete lack of human decency to stand there and watch someones home burn to the ground and not do anything about it.  It’s just wrong…

Anyways, if you guys have any opinions or feelings on the matter, feel free to drop me a line, I’m always open to criticism and feedback.

Cheers!

2 thoughts on “One week after NaNoWriMo and other tales

  1. Ah NaNoWriMo…

    I ended with a whopping 28,494, so I know how you feel about not “winning.” Yet, I had just over 8,000 last year, so I am calling this one a win nonetheless. More importantly, I have started a novel! That’s a big win to me. Unlike last year, I intend to keep going and finish (mid-January…?).

    So, congratulations for starting, congratulations for getting a chunk done–no matter how small it may be–, and congratulations for ending with a feeling of accomplishment.

    Now go finish. 🙂

    • Hells yeah son! Thanks for the encouragement, though I feel inclined to admit that after starting to read Prince of Thorns by Mark Lawrence (check him out on Twitter) I feel my story is a bit inaccessible. So, I have some rewriting to do such as key plot points. Still excited about the direction it may go!

Leave a Reply

