Deus Ex and Hawthorne Heights meet my brain

Standard

So, you guys know I haven’t been writing, at least those of you that frequent my humble little daydreams on here, know.  Right now, my writing files are locked away on hard drives that are not compatible with my new computers hardware.  So, I am waiting for the necessary cables to hook them up and transfer them over, and I am certifiably hesitant to start any new writing endeavors, as my progress on the other pieces was actually going smashingly.

So, in the meantime, I have been playing video games and listening to music though!  Again, this may seem completely lackadaisical, but I’m not being completely lazy.  In all things that I watch, play and read, I find modicums of inspiration.

I know, I know!  You are asking yourselves, “Didn’t he just do a post on a video game?”.  The answer is, yes, yes I did.  However, I have found a sudden inspiration from Deus Ex:  Human Revolution.  I picked this title up a few days ago, when my neighbors payed me forty dollars to help move their stuff out of their apartment.

It’s funny because it’s like Robocop meets Ghost in the Shell, where the protagonist, Adam Jensen, is nearly killed in an attack, and then is brought back, through the use of human augmentations, in a world divided between people who are pro-augmentation and those that feel they defile human existence.  The intriguing theme, combined with the dark setting of the grim future, make me feel a disconnected need to play Adam Jensen as a man who can accept his grim future with an unbiased attitude.  He is a man who accepts that he had no control over what happened to him, but seeks to use the results of his new life to seek vengeance.

I felt a strong kinship between my work-in-progress novel The Oblivion Soul and Deus Ex, along with a deeper connection between Jensen and my main character, Grehem Leon.

Whenever I feel the sensation this kind of connection sparks, I feel overwhelming inspiration.  Even though no new ideas actually come to mind, I can’t help but feel that the words draw closer to the surface, waiting to be released.

That’s when the music takes over.

Just today, I picked out the Underworld: Evolution soundtrack (no joke) from my music collection.  Track three on the cd is “Where Do I Stab Myself in the Ears” by Hawthorne Heights.  Now, I am not, by any means, a big fan of the band, but this song is catchy.  But today, the line from the song’s lyrics, “The signal’s fading fast and the ink is running out.”, kindled the spark that had already been flitting around my muse.

I had been trying to decide how best to start the novel that would follow the events of my short story “The Prisoner of Death”.  This fact, along with my uncertainty as to whether to write it in the first person narrative (something I have wanted to do for a long time), or not.  Therefore, once I got the pot stirring in my brain, I hashed out the tentative first couple of sentences that would kick start this novel, which I give to you now.

I have far too much to record for so little ink and even less time, but I shall recount the events that have lead to my inevitable destruction.  Even now, I hear their claws scratching at the rocks and feel the echo of their howls on the back of my neck.  

Tentative at best, to be sure, but, “Never shirk in the face of your muse and the inspiration she draws to  you.”  So, let me know what you guys think, or drop me a line if you’ve played DXHR and have any good pointers!

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

