Sunshine Award!

Standard

  1. WriteNow
  2. Pany
  3. Versatile Blogger Award (#4!) and Randomness « Maggie Madly Writing
  4. The Joy of Sunshine | Laura Stanfill
  5. valerie r lawson
  6. A. E. Welch
  7. T.L. Bodine: The Sunshine Award!
  8. My Writing Journey
  9. T.L. Bodine
  10. Life In A Notebook

See that list?  That is what one simple thing called “The Sunshine Award” started for me.  For those of you who are unfamiliar with what the award is, I’ll get into the details in a minute.  Suffice it to say, the big premise is it’s kind of like pay it forward.  But right now, I’m kind of flustered at what happened.

It actually started with the wonderful Whitney Carter giving me the award.  Thanks, Whitney!  I was one of five people that she passed it on to.  Then I realized that she was at least one of five people as well.  So, like Alice and the rabbit hole, I followed the trail down the line, following each of the blogs that I came across until I finally ended at Write Now, where I failed to find a post suggesting that they were given the award by another, or if they were the “patient zero”.  Regardless, this one simple award opened up a wonderful new set of blogs for me to follow!  And I might add that within a few minutes of my adventure, Write Now followed me!  Thanks!

And that is the story of my journey.  I’ve got to say that I just find it amazing that an act as simple as one writer saying that they appreciate another is really quite extraordinary!  So, to each of you that preceded me, I would just like to say thank you for taking part in the Sunshine Award!

So, back to the award itself.  The way it goes is that when someone passes the award onto you, you must link back to them with a big shout out, answer ten questions about yourself, and then pass it on to five more people.  So, let’s get this ball rolling, and I hope you enjoy the conversation I’m about to have with myself!

 Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

It was in the seventh grade.  I had always focused on art above all else, given my love to draw.  However, in English class, we were given the first creative writing project I can remember.  My teacher told us to go crazy and write about whatever we wanted, so long as it was a fictional piece and accounted for a certain set of words.  The story that I came up with was ridiculous to say the least, like watching a really low budget movie in your head.  But from that day, writing became a bigger part of my life, and though I continued to focus on art, I allowed that part of my imagination to really help me bring my art to life.

 What is the biggest influence on your writing?

Honestly, music.  Nothing gets my creative juices going more than a song that is ripe with passion.  Whether that passion stems from the singer’s determination or despair matters little, so long as they mean it, and I can truly feel it.

 Who are some authors that have had the biggest influence on your writing?

This could go on for a very long time if I gave you the whole list.  Truthfully, I find myself influenced by any author that writes anything that truly makes me, as a reader, feel.   I suppose, however, that the most basic list would certainly credit R.A. Salvatore, J.R.R. Tolkien, Margaret Weiss, Tracy Hickman, Terry Brooks, Patrick Rothfuss, Gene Wolfe and Brian Lee O’Malley.  See, even the short list is a baby monster!

What is the hardest part of writing?

Not making it too easy for my heroes.  I all too often find myself find myself answering questions and solving puzzles for them.  I feel, however, that the best way to really bring your characters to life, is to let them figure things out for themselves.  Forget your own knowledge, forget that you know what you want to  happen in the story, and just think as your own character.  This gives you the (Dungeons and Dragons nerd moment!) dungeon master versus hero scenario, which adds so much more excitement to whatever you are writing.

 What book are you reading now?

I am currently in the last few chapters of Gene Wolfe’s “Shadow and Claw.  I have been reading it on and off for sometime now.  It is a fantastic book, but I liken it to the richest brownie you can ever imagine.  Each page is like a bit that you have to give time to dissolve to truly appreciate.  The way he writes the story in the first person, leaves little to no doubt that you are within the very mind, if not the very soul, of the main character, Severian.

You’re really long-winded aren’t you?

Yes, but only about things that I really love.  Plus, I must say I love the sound of my own voice inside my head.  The way it’s cheeky, but not offensive.  I mean I could seriously listen to it all-

 What about hobbies?  What do  you love to do?

Disregarding the fact that you asked two questions, I’d say my two biggest hobbies would be video games and reading.  However, my favorite things to do would also encompass playing with my kids and spending time with my wife.

 You mentioned music before, as being a big influence on your writing, what are some of your favorite bands?

Top three bands would have to include Incubus, Linkin Park and the Cure.  But I’m also really big into bands like Attack Attack!, Panic at the Disco, She and Him, Emery, Portugal the Man, Leann Rimes and Deftones.  Again, it’s all about the passion.  If someone makes music with love, I’m all for it.

 Do you have time for two more questions?

Well, that’s one question, so I suppose, sure.

Let’s not count that one.

Too late, already did!

Okay, last question!  When you blog about your writing you haven’t talked about your heroes much.  What do you feel makes a person a hero.

This answer is simple.  In fact, I may just use this in one of my stories. 😉 But, anybody can give something when they have plenty to give.  It takes a hero, a true hero, to keep giving when he has nothing left to give.

 Wow, deep stuff.  Well, thank you for your time!

Okay, stop talking to yourself, it’s just getting creepy now…

Alright!  There are my ten questions!  Now, like a mighty king of yore, I bestow the Sunshine Award upon these blogs!

poetry, pics, prose and philosophy

Kellie See

Horror, Sci-Fi, Fantasy & Thrillers – Lawrence Pearce

AuTOMonous

A Speaking Human

Rise! Ye bloggers of awesomeness!

2 thoughts on “Sunshine Award!

  1. What a great idea! Thanks for tracking us all down. In some ways your list of Sunshine recipients is similar to how books affect writers who then go on to write their own stories. A sort of domino effect of appreciation and inspiration.

    • Thanks for stopping by! It was a real treat to find a whole new list of blogs to follow, and it helped make me aware of how I was missing a lot of great content from other blogs!

Leave a Reply

