Books, books, books!

Standard

 

My wee scamp exploring the worldbuilding power of books!

So, I won’t lie (not to your faces anyways ;D), but I have been playing a lot of Diablo 3 these last two weeks, and this weeks post was absolutely going to be a giant rant about all of the ridiculous and negative feedback that Blizzard Entertainment is getting about Diablo 3.  I, however, decided to make this post about books, even though I could go on about how insane people sound when they are complaining about a game that the company didn’t need to take the time to make.  Or the fact that those same people are complaining that Blizzard made the hardest difficulty setting for the game, something that fans said they wanted, too hard.  I mean COME ON!  What?  Did you want them to make the hardest difficulty have absolutely no challenge at all?  What are you guys?  IDIOTS?!  Ahem… Sorry about that…

Anyways!  Books are this week’s topic!  I love em, obviously, and can’t believe that I haven’t really talked about them more.  I am currently reading “The Way of Kings” by the talented Brandon Sanderson.  I never took the time to read any of his books before now, merely because I was too wrapped up in other series too get caught in another.  However, I just recently stopped by the my local public library and couldn’t resist the urge to grab this book, and I’ve got to say that I am in no way disappointed!  Lack of time aside, the first fifty pages I’ve read already have me hooked, and I can already see multiple overdue fines in my future…

I must admit that I also started reading, at the many suggestions of the lovely Katy Hulme over at the storytelling nomad, “The Assassin’s Apprentice” by Robin Hobb.  Again another great book that has instantly snared me, thank you Katy, but since I own this series I feel inclined to finish TWoK first.  I have to say that Hobbs has done a great job at writing a first person narrative that drew me in and attached me to her main character quickly, and I can’t wait to continue reading this series!

And finally, I must admit that I went back and reread, for the tenth time I might add, “A Wizard of Earthsea” by Ursula K. LeGuin.  This book, since I discovered back in my younger years, has always enthralled me.  It is a tiny little thing and takes little to no time to read it, but within it’s compact frame lies a tale that amazes me and gives me the goosebumps every time I read it.  I am ashamed that I have never fully read any of LeGuin’s other books, but that is merely because every time I think of her name, I grab my copy of AWoE and dive right in!

I could keep going about the books I’m in the middle of reading, but being the dutiful father and husband I am, and due to the fact that I hear video games calling to me from the near future, I’d like to pass the torch on to you guys.  Drop me a comment and tell me about the wonderful books you guys are currently reading, or make me some suggestions for future reading!

Oh!  And don’t forget to drop by Raving Wild!  I have an all new Scribbles and Scales up.  And I wrote a poem to go along with this weeks wonderful image!  Stop by and check it out!

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

